Nominate Now

The Louisiana Water Environment Association recognizes outstanding contribution of our members through our annual awards program. A description of each award is provided below. Nomination are accepted, and the awards will be presented at our Annual Meeting.


Burke Award

The Burke Award recognizes a municipal or industrial wastewater facility for establishing and maintaining an active and effective safety program. This award was established in 1982 in honor of George W. Burke, Jr., for his many years of service to both the water environment field and WEF as staff manager of technical services. Mr. Burke was instrumental in developing WEF's annual safety survey and assisting in the production of several safety training aids and promotional packets.


Hatfield Award

The Hatfield Award is presented to operators of wastewater treatment plants for outstanding performance and professionalism. The award was established in honor of Dr. William D. Hatfield, Superintendent of the Decatur, Illinois, Sanitary District, who was President of the Central States Sewage Works Association in 1944-45 and served as President of the Federation in 1958-59.


Bedell Award

The Bedell Award was established to acknowledge extraordinary personal service to a WEF Member Association. The award is named for Arthur Sidney Bedell, WEF's second president for his long devotion and service to the New York Sewage and Industrial Wastes Association, now the New York Water Environment Association. He was Chief of the Bureau of Sewage and Waste Disposal of the New York State Department of Health.


John Dale Givens Award

The John Dale Givens Award is presented to a distinguished member for their meritorious service to the Louisiana Water Environment Association. This award was established in 2003 to acknowledge the many years of distinguished service provided by J. Dale Givens as the Secretary of the Louisiana Department of Environmental Quality and his strong, untiring support of the Louisiana Water Environment Association.


Laboratory Anlayst Awards

The Laboratory Analyst Award recognizes individuals for outstanding performance, professionalism, and contributions to the water quality analysis profession. Candidate must be employed at an educational facility laboratory, industrial, commercial, or municipal laboratory which performs wastewater-related analysis, and must have direct analytical responsibilities. Candidate must demonstrate outstanding efforts in the area of wastewater and environmental aquatic analyses, including such items as innovative sampling techniques or solutions to a treatment, analytical, or environmental problem. Candidate is involved in continuing education, gives presentations at professional conferences, and demonstrates initiative or performance "beyond the call of duty."